Music: Chastity Brown’s “Leroy”

Here’s your Minnesota Musician of the Day!

I first heard “Leroy” the day after I found out a close friend had cancer. Listening to it made me cry and feel OK at the same time — I think because the conversation the song’s narrator has with Leroy felt similar to the conversation God was having with me at the time. Anyway, it’s a beautiful piece of music.

Chastity Brown has been singing around Minneapolis since the middle 2000’s. She’s got the the tenderest, most soulful voice in the Twin Cities, plus a deeply honest take on what it’s like to be a woman. I always find myself listening to her music and going, “Yeah, that’s exactly what it feels like.”

Her next show is at the 318 Cafe in Excelsior on June 5th. Here’s her Facebook page if you want to find out a bit more about her.

Leave a Reply

